Cease, Desist & Rebirth

After around another 5 months of silence, I’m here again to say to those who are still around to this day another status update. Everything I said in the last update post still stands and honestly hasn’t gotten much better. It has led me to think that my old approaches regarding things in life, may they be about my interpersonal relationships or my passions will no longer work, though I suppose it’s already a step in the right direction to realizing all of these at long last. I seriously look back at what I was doing a year ago, eagerly working towards the conclusion of Website Releases II, and wonder where that enthusiasm has gone. For some reason, it’s only gotten more difficult to continue down that very path I’ve carved for myself since the beginning of LEAF.

Nevertheless, my passion for music is something I will never, ever give up, regardless of the circumstances surrounding it. If it’s so difficult now, ever more so than it has been then and before, I’m going to simply find new ways to tackle it down. One of the many things I never accepted back then was that I needed help to do this. I can only do so much by myself, but when I look back at it all, I never would’ve gotten this far if not for the support of my closest friends and the audience on the internet who, by simply giving me a listen and finding enjoyment in it do a lot more than they think to help me pursue my passion.

After all, what is an art form if there is no audience to appreciate it?

To those of you who are reading this post, I thank you. It tells me that there are people out there who are willing to give my art form a chance for appreciation, and maybe one day shine as bright as it did before.

And with that, onwards to the status update. πŸ™‚

With more and more consideration for the future, I decided to finally do something to LEAF XCEED Music Division that would have its name making sense (finally!): from an artist name, I’m converting LEAF XCEED Music Division into a label. That would mean that artists will release music under the LEAF XCEED Music Division label under their own aliases. I say “artists” but really, it’s just me so far, but I sincerely hope in the future I find people who would be interested in joining my label. This is not to say all the current discography under the LEAF XCEED Music Division artist name will be disregarded; they will remain intact, but future releases will be under different names, if not for the special exceptions of albums meant only to be released under the LEAF XCEED Music Division moniker.

This inadvertently implies that LEAF XCEED Music Division will be “split”. That is, in fact, the actual case πŸ˜„ A problem I saw was that if one looks at the content of both Website Releases, the genres are too varied. You have video game power metal here, classical there and chiptune out of nowhere. I was initially going to solve this through albums that centered around a genre, but what if one were to classify the artist as a whole?

That’s why I decided that LEAF XCEED Music Division will now be split into two, genre-wise: the guitar-oriented compositions and the classical compositions. The new artist names will be DualBlade and Arc Lumina, respectively; DualBlade being a reference to an ultimate weapon in the Lufia franchise and Arc Lumina referring to synthesized and controlled light, for all the sounds are created through sampling and sound synthesis.

DualBlade Concept Art

DualBlade Concept Art, with DualBlade’s official logo

I have uploaded a sample of finished and concept works for DualBlade’s debut album on SoundCloud, which can be found here:

https://soundcloud.com/rtnario/dualblade-sampler

Arc Lumina has yet to have a logo (if it’ll have one) and a sampler, since I haven’t done much with regards to it. Both artists will be added to the current label page on Last.fm of LEAF XCEED Music Division, still being worked on. The brackets are there because Last.fm wouldn’t accept a single name as both an artist and a label.

http://www.last.fm/label/%5B+LEAF+XCEED+Music+Division+%5D

In total, these are the current planned artists under the LEAF XCEED Music Division label:

  1. LEAF XCEED Music Division
  2. DualBlade
  3. Arc Lumina
  4. Ramon Nario
  5. Ronin Amaro

I’m hoping I can add more artists to this roster, cause dammit, that’s all me XDD Maybe someday.

Anyhow, there you have it. This is just to show that there has been progress regardless of how small in terms of LEAF XCEED, and that maybe when a finished product comes in the future, that the people who’ll come across it will enjoy it πŸ™‚

See you in the next post (whenever that may be).

~ by rtnario on October 14, 2012.

6 Responses to “Cease, Desist & Rebirth”

  1. Clarification from not-Ramon-Nario – the “LEAF XCEED Music Division” under the new label features the old songs made by LEAF X MD prior to the whole turn-into-a-label thing.

    Also, DualBlade is also you and your other MMORPG black clothing loving self subconsciously making a reference to SAO. -_-

  2. Wow. A post after that long silence. I’m impressed. And also somewhat inspired.

    A very wise choice to split up. I am (sort of) facing this as well. I work in multiple genres right now, and probably always will. But I don’t know if I should split up, hell, I don’t even know why I’m thinking of that anyways! I’m young, my music is fresh and my name got created only a few months ago, so maybe I’m overreacting a bit.

    I like DeathBlade’s logo. Looks fresh. Braaaaand new.

    I wonder. I make music and it has ever been my dream to sign in on a label to be able to get money for my music (of course right now I’m converting to just doing it for the audience), and thought this may be an oppurtunity for me, even while this label is new and not that known. But still. It’s a start.

    I have no knowledge whatsoever about labels and how it all works, so don’t blame me if I do this wrong, I’m just going to try.

    Can I sign up for your newly launched label?

    • Oh, a link to my music maybe πŸ˜›

      Name is ExoBassTix. I work mainly in electronical genres. I’m 14 years old and live in The Netherlands.

      … I don’t know, just providing maybe-necessary info πŸ˜›

    • I guess that wholly depends on you. When I was 14 I hadn’t even been exposed to how genre disparity could affect how your music is known and spread. For example, in my case, some people may recognize you for your video game metal remixes, but others would go to you after hearing that one time you make an 8-bit remix of a pop song.

      Mhm, you’re right about you being young and your music being fresh just as I felt back when I was 14 making MIDI versions of what is now my trademark style πŸ˜„ As for the decision to “split yourself up” however, you have to think about if your audience is misled by how far apart your genres are. If they’re not -so- out there, then maybe it’s not something you should bother with so much; just my .02.

      As for my LEAF XCEED Music DIvision label, the thing is, it’s not something paid (and I would have no way of paying anyone, let alone have the funding for something like that). Right now, I have yet to make plans for music that costs money and the same applies for the label. All I intend to do as of now is make a free label for free distribution and sharing of all artists involved. Through that all artists can help each other out πŸ™‚

      We can talk through Facebook if you’re still interested:
      https://www.facebook.com/rtnario

      If not, then good luck with your musical endeavors.

      I think you’ve been around since my Cave Story remixes and I appreciate that πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

 
