God F***ing Dammit.

JANUARY 2, 2009 UPDATE:

This is a freaking seesaw, I swear. At first, Lux broke down and I thought I just had to replace the power supply, no problem. And then when I found out exactly what was affected and the supposed cost of it all, I was distraught. But my parents were okay with the insane cost, and I could get Terra, so it was turning out well. Today, I also found out that the warranty actually covers everything else but the power supply, so the only thing that had to be paid for was the new power supply. Awesome.

And then.

I found out that the replacement of parts via warranty would cost nothing of course. Except my time. A month of my time.

I’m not even gonna rant about it in the form of text, but you should get an idea of how it feels like, considering how angry I was already with each passing day without Lux.

End of f**ing story.

…so this is actually an update since while I was very much pissed I also have the ability of being not pissed at all. Or something like that. 😄

So, yeah, at least a month (specifically 3 weeks starting today) until I get Lux back. With Terra. But still it’s a pretty long wait. It’s not like not having Lux will make me any less of a person.

No, that’s a stupid lie GOOD GOD I WANT LUX BACK I WANT MY SHINY MODDED INTERFACE MY WINDOWS SEVEN SUPERBAR MY CUSTOM THEME MY DOCKS MY FOOBAR2000 MY BLAA FOLDER MY DRAGON AGE MY FL STUDIO MY VSTS MY REALSTRAT MY AMPLITUBE MY AMPLITUBE METAL MY EDIROL ORCHESTRAL MY CUSTOM MACHINAE SUPREMACY DRUMKIT MY BETAS FOR WEBSITE RELEASES AND MY BETAS FOR SOUNDTRACK OF THE UNDERGROUND AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

…but what can you do. >_>;

DECEMBER 31, 2009:

Pre-new-year update. Well, this time it’s actually more of good news. My father is actually okay with the cost of the repair. It’s still 12k, but after discussing it thoroughly, he decided that it is a must and that he will provide that 12k for repairs. What’s more is that he is okay with me spending my savings not on half the repair cost but on my original intention. That’s right; my PC is gonna get repaired with the motherboard and graphics card replaced, a better power supply AND even Terra gets to be a possibility even after the unbelievable cost of it all. I can’t ever be more thankful to have parents that really care enough to go that far for something that might seem like an extra to others, but is actually more of mandatory to me as a musician.

This makes it completely worth waiting to get Lux back on January 2.

DECEMBER 30, 2009:

Things have to get worse, don’t they.

After my PC got diagnosed, I was told that I needed to replace not only the broken power supply. I also need to replace the motherboard and the graphics card. The graphics card is about 5k and the motherboard is about 3k. Plus the power supply which is about 3-4k. That’s right. About 12k worth of repairs. Now I KNOW my parents will kill me, and probably Terra isn’t a possibility anymore. I don’t know what the f**k to do anymore.

DECEMBER 29, 2009:

Yeah, if you bother reading posts here you’ll notice that the title of this blog is quite unsettling to anyone who knows what words are considered swearing and which words would commit “Saying the name of the Lord in vain”. But that’s basically how pissed and annoyed I am right now.

See, our Christmas break started a week ago, and so it was all fun back then. And of course, people would get tired of going out and would like to stay home, rest and enjoy their break as they see fit. I am in the latter state, and I for one actually have a very important use for being able to stay home: composing music. My main tools of composing consist of my PC, Lux Aeterna, FL Studio and a hell lot of VST plugins. Since I am a musician with such a belief that states “Music = Life”, composing is an integral part of my life, as much as breathing is to any average person.

Then came the day when Lux broke down. The reason being that my high-end PC did not have a high-end power supply and the entire time that I bought the PC from when it broke down, it was heavily underpowered. I did not know this at all.

So we brought it to the shop where Lux was made, and so they took it in for diagnosing. By that time it would’ve been the 3rd day I have been spending my Christmas break without composing, which is what I would’ve done if not for Lux breaking down. Of course, those days were so damn wasted that I got my hopes up when the person as the shop told me the problem could be fixed as soon as the day after, which would be today. Finally, my Christmas break finds use again.

Unfortunately, after a phone call that I was asked to make yesterday for a status update on Lux, I was told that the problem has not been diagnosed.

If it had, this blog entry would’ve been entirely different, with the arrival of both Lux and Terra from the shop, Terra being what would’ve been my new 1 TB internal HDD. But that didn’t happen now, did it?

Worst of all is that according to our stupid schedule I can only pick it up by December 31. With a schedule like that, probably any planned gimmicks of any sort would also be hard to arrange. It’s like I’m left with absolutely nothing to do. Today is the 4th day I haven’t touched my compositions stored in my possibly damaged HDD in the shop. Plus there’s the additional 5th day. The 6th day is supposedly when I should be picking it up, but I swear if they say the problem hasn’t been diagnosed…

~ by rtnario on December 29, 2009.

2 Responses to “God F***ing Dammit.”

  1. I’m really sorry for your loss, dude… all those betas and compositions perished without knowing what hit them. May Lux come back better than ever.

    • Thanks man. However, I didn’t really mention the fact much that my hard drive is unaffected, which means all those betas and compositions are still there. Although, I was already pretty damn depressed when Lux broke at the start…if my life’s work disappeared also, I really don’t know what would’ve become of me.

Leave a Reply

 
